Il Camino Restaurant Maldon Hot

User rating
 
9.1 (9)
 

User reviews

Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Overall*
Food*
Service*
Ambience*
Value*
Toilets*
Recommend*
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering 
 

Brilliant Al La Carte Food

Overall rating: 
 
9.4
Overall:
 
10.0
Food:
 
10.0
Service:
 
10.0
Ambience:
 
9.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
8.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Diana Littler
May 11, 2011
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

"I have been to Il Camino several times now and it remains my favourite restaurant.
If you like Italian Al La Carte food you cannot do better than this restaurant. The food is brilliantly presented, tastes amazing, is reasonably priced and the portions are of a good size which is very unusual for Al La Carte food.
We visited again last night and could not fault the food in any way; the whole experience was a culinary delight. Our friends with us last night have also visited Il Camino many times and say it is the one restaurant they will always recommend as the food is exquiste. Last night the Scallops in particular were fantastic and I have only tasted as good in a very expensive top London restaurant.
If you visit one restaurant in Maldon, Il Camino has to be the one. Everything is hand cooked by the Italian owner and the attention to detail is superb.
I was also impressed last Valentine's day at Il Camino as we were able to sample a wide range of food for a reasonable price. Even though it was one of the busiest days of the year the food was amazing and the whole restaurant decked out in red. Lovely :-)"

 

Fine dining in Maldon

Overall rating: 
 
8.7
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
9.0
Ambience:
 
9.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
7.0
Recommend:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Decided to give this restaurant a go on a quiet early Monday evening. The 2 for 1 offer on was slightly confusingly explained but the food was what really counted. Fresh home cooked Italian by an Italian. A wide choice of starters and main but suprisingly not that many pasta dishes on the menu. Overall the food was excellent as well as the service. The toilets need up dating, particularly if it wants to compete with Intimo further up the road. Nice ambience. Would highly recommend for a special evening out with family and friends.

 

evening out

Overall rating: 
 
10.0
Overall:
 
10.0
Food:
 
10.0
Service:
 
10.0
Ambience:
 
10.0
Value:
 
10.0
Toilets:
 
10.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by sean walsh
April 30, 2010
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

highly recommended

 

A wanderfull and perfect dining experience

Overall rating: 
 
9.3
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
10.0
Ambience:
 
9.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
9.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by D Banks
April 20, 2009
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful

The first time I visited this restaurant with my wife was on the 14th February 2009, our Valentine Dinner.When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly ataff and and extraordinary surrounding. The whole ceiling was covered with red ballons, on the table there was a beautiful red rose and a little teddy bear. Before ordering we were presented with a complementary Kir Royale, olive and atipasto. The 7 choice set menu offered great variety of dishes which we found diffucult to choose from. The food was very well presented and cooked to perfection. The service was very attentive but not intrusive and we were allowed time to relax. We had a fantastic evening and we really enjoyed the food and the whole athmosphere. Sice then we visited the restaurant with friends on a couple of accasions and we always had good experience. We highly reccoment this restaurant and it will be always our first choice.

 

excellent

Overall rating: 
 
9.2
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
9.0
Ambience:
 
9.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
9.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Tarnia
July 15, 2008
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
93 of 94 people found the following review helpful

I've rated very highly as you can see. i had an excellent 21st birthday and all the staff made a lot of effort to make our meal and the ambience around us as enjoyable as possible. as for anyone that disagrees i feel that you belong i a differnet style of restaurant the type that where you get nothing on a plate but pay loads just because of a name. i suggest london for andrew

 

A Restaurant worth visiting Maldon for

Overall rating: 
 
9.0
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
10.0
Service:
 
9.0
Ambience:
 
8.0
Value:
 
8.0
Toilets:
 
9.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Diana Littler
June 06, 2008
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
110 of 110 people found the following review helpful

Friends and I ate out at Il Camino last night after reading the reviews on this website. We were not disappointed.

Our host and restaurant owner Maurizo was charming and the food was excellent. The menu which can be seen online on their website is very extensive. I did comment before visting the restaurant that if the food was as good as the menu we would be in for an evening of gastronomical delights and I was not wrong.

The food on offer was extremely well presented and exceptionally tasty. Ranging from wild boar and vension to a large variety seafood.The sauces were delicious and not too strong and made you want to lick the plate clean!

Overall this restaurant was a surprising find particularly in Maldon. It is an Italian restaurant with a difference; there is little pasta on the menu as the food comes from Maurizio's part of Italy which as he said is in the centre and little known. Recipes have been handed down over generations.

This is a restaurant which I would definitely recommend and we will definitely be bringing friends back to eat in Il Camino.

 

Excellent Italian Food has made it's way to Essex

Overall rating: 
 
8.2
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
8.0
Ambience:
 
7.0
Value:
 
7.0
Toilets:
 
8.0
Recommend:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Claire
April 25, 2008
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
130 of 130 people found the following review helpful

I went here for my birthday in October 2007 and the food was amazing. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere was good too. When we went it was a mid week night, but it was still quite busy, so I imagine Friday and Saturday night it would be packed!



The food is traditional Italian, and there is no pizza, but this wasn't a problem as the choice of meats, fish and pasta for mains was excellent. I've been meaning to go back ever since, as the food was great. Overall it is quite expensive, but it's still good value and well worth it!

 

Definetly a place to dine

Overall rating: 
 
9.3
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
10.0
Ambience:
 
9.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
9.0
Recommend:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Mark D
April 25, 2008
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
130 of 132 people found the following review helpful

Following up on a friend's recommendation, I chose this restaurant to meet up with two friends I had not seen for a long time.

We were greeted on arrival by a gentleman (later introduced himself as the owner) and accompanied to our table. The restaurant was full and the atmosphere was very good. We all felt relaxed and at ease with the place. We were presented with the menu by a lovely and helpful waitress. Although (thankfully) there where only 2 or 3 pasta dishes, the menu offered an excellent variety of meat and fish dishes as well as new combinations we had never seen before. After a very helpful advice from the waitress, we finally managed to order. The food arrived in good time, was very well served, generous and the presentation very good (hot plates). The owner advice on the wine was just right and it complemented our dishes very well. We all had a great evening and we will certainly recommend it to our friends. We will be back!

Mark

 

Il Camino Italian Restaurant

Overall rating: 
 
8.7
Overall:
 
9.0
Food:
 
9.0
Service:
 
8.0
Ambience:
 
8.0
Value:
 
9.0
Toilets:
 
9.0
Recommend:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by Ron P Fraser
March 16, 2008
Comments (0)
Report this review
 
130 of 131 people found the following review helpful

Il Camino Restaurant Maldon

15th March 2008
The occasion was my wife?s 21th Birthday party again, and included our sons and their young family, 10 of us in all. It took us over of an hour to settle and order, but we weren?t rushed by the staff and throughout the evening they were courteous & attentive without being pushy.
The restaurant was fully booked and the staff were very busy but gave our party good service. The restaurant had a good atmosphere, and despite the number of patrons we could still talk & hear each other from one end of the table to the other.
The menu offered a good variety of dishes & when our meals arrived the food was well presented & delicious and the size of portions was well judged, nor did they skimp on the vegetables which so many restaurants tend to do.
If I had to make a criticism, it would be that perhaps they could stagger the start times for the meals, but that has to be difficult to organize.

 
9 results - showing 1 - 9
 

Hot Offers

Register your details and get exclusive dining offers from local restaurants, pubs and hotels in your area sent to your inbox!

Register for Special Offers

Random Review

User rating
 
9.2
Reviewed by Pauline Stevens
User rating
 
8.9
Reviewed by Lucy
User rating
 
4.3
Reviewed by Paul Harris

Helpful Reviews

User rating
 
8.8
Reviewed by Kevin and Haley
User rating
 
9.1
Reviewed by Neil Holmes
User rating
 
4.8
Reviewed by mrs n pitts